Poets logo

What’s in a Name?

A poem

By Chloë J.Published 12 months ago 1 min read
2
What’s in a Name?
Photo by Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

Such silly, vital things, our names,

So cunning on the tongue!

The sound of mine will quickly bring

Me coming at a run.

/

From the right lips, it is a song,

Confession, promise, plea;

A piece of precious evidence

That whispers you see me.

/

It lends me meaning, lends me strength,

Gives me identity,

It holds me fast, my sure tether

Throughout uncertainties.

/

From a strange mouth, with a wrong tone,

It seems more like a curse.

Or when spat out, by one you love;

Can anything be worse?

/

Mine’s been a shackle and a balm,

A standard set too high,

But mine it is; I’ll have none else,

My soul-to-body tie.

//

fact or fiction
2

About the Creator

Chloë J.

Probably not as funny as I think I am

Insta @chloe_j_writes

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Paul Stewart12 months ago

    Love it! So clever and has a nice rhythm to it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.