Poets logo

The Carob Cherub vs. Artificial Color (Red 40)

In which my hippie parents can protect me for only so long

By J. Otis HaasPublished about a month ago Updated about a month ago 1 min read
3

My earliest years tasted of carob,

And garden veggies still warm from the sun.

I was a free range, indigo cherub,

Exploring the world at a run.

.

In my hand, a sticky, sweet date

With an almond nestled on top

Was reason to smile and celebrate.

At the health food co-op.

.

I knew nothing of bologna, burgers and fries,

Or sugary, forbidden cereal.

In time, these omissions might feel like lies,

But, back then it was all that was real.

.

Ignorance is not knowing what you do not know,

And for years I remained sheltered, protected,

But even a cherub must eventually grow.

It happened while a movie projected.

.

In a dark theater, I sit in my seat,

Full of anticipation.

I am handed a Twizzler, artificial and sweet,

For me this is emancipation.

.

I venture a bite, unsure what to think,

The red twist tastes somewhat of plastic,

There in the dark, things change in a blink,

Twizzlers are truly fantastic!

.

It seems my world can scarcely contain

This deliverance by way of candy,

Within my head it changes my brain

As surely as a swig of brandy.

.

Decades elapse, but I return to the past,

Each time I pull free a vine,

I savor the flavor, and wish it could last.

For me, this is Proust’s madeleine.

For Fun
3

About the Creator

J. Otis Haas

Space Case

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrea Corwin about a month ago

    Hahah I love the title and subtitle!! It is clever, funny and you are not alone. Your hippie parents … 😉 Super poem!!! ❤️😻❣️ Whenever I see labels like “authentic licorice” which is black, I read the label and basically it is the same sugar - but black usually contains some of the extract from the plant - which is something naturopaths have patients take (licorice root or DGL) for certain conditions. Beware red or black teeth after chowing down 😂😂😂😂

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.