Poets logo

The Captive's Choice

A Poem about Self Deprivation

By Kyandra MayPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Captive's Choice
Photo by Damir Spanic on Unsplash

Your cage, wrought iron, rusted

unwelcoming and cold

The air is stale and musty

smells of rotting earth and mold

The sustenance is lacking

and leaves much to be desired

The lukewarm water is unclean

the supposed food, expired

You'll find nothing that you need in here

No clothes, no shoes, no bed

This place is made to feed your fear

no solace for your head

No wonder you are in there

spewing hate to passersby

for such a sorrowful existence

would make any grown man cry

There are those who try to help you

You'll have nothing of their aide

It's ladled with such pity

Their concern is soon to fade

They'll leave like all the others

And you'll be left alone

wondering why no one cares

and this is still your home

But friend, I've come to tell you

I understand your pain

A caged existence I lived too

Though sadly all in vain

It took so long to realize

You need to learn this on your own

But this cage you choose to live in

has never been your home

Don't be angered that I call it choice

You'll see it soon enough

I hear it in your angered voice

You're closed off from feeling love

I wish I could take your pain away

and make your worries end

Though this journey's yours alone to face

I'll stand beside you friend

"It's better here beyond the cage"

I say as I invite you out

You spit at me with such rage

as if I mock you now

I'll continue waiting patiently

'Til you see where this picture's wrong

And learn the cage in which you stand

Has been open all along

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.