Poets logo

The Call

A poem about the cusp of happening

By Suze KayPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
19
The Call
Photo by Ricardo Cruz on Unsplash

There will be no call to adventure, not until you've dug the stone out of the earth. Not until you've carved the hollow into which the sword will slip one day,

long before you're ready to tie your hiking boots to the straps of your Jansport. All heroes have context. All stories start with days laid low and humdrum weather. If all you have

is want and teeth you have enough. If all you want is enough, you don't. It's better to have empty hands when setting out, to leave room for hoarded trinkets and lessons learned. Nothing left behind

on the chip-crumbed couch, bathed in the empty light of movies you watch like training videos. Relax, darling: the time's not wasted. It's easy to see the shape of things from there, the arc of the call

that meets you where you are. It comes in many shapes and sizes. It sounds like a friend who asks what now? It looks like the lack of rosemary in your cupboard. It feels like a secret loosed

into the shell of your ear which moves your hand onto the hilt. But you have to want it while it's building. You have to dream the story while it grows, so when it finds you it can fit the place you left

open to carry it. It's yours to seize. Please, tell me you're ready.

Free Verse
19

About the Creator

Suze Kay

Pastry chef by day, insomniac writer by night.

Find here: stories that creep up on you, poems to stumble over, and the weird words I hold them in.

Or, let me catch you at www.suzekay.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Dana Crandell29 days ago

    Well, it took me 20 days to find this, but I'm glad I did! I am almost ready and it's almost time, so I'll call it serendipity! What a beautiful poem, Suze!

  • Karen Caveabout a month ago

    Absolutely beautiful Suze. I love that anything can feel like the 'quest' - whether leaving the house to buy milk, learning a new skill, or travelling the world.

  • Joe O’Connorabout a month ago

    The image of the sword drew me in Suze, but I stayed for the insightful thoughts on the beginning of journeys, and when a person knows they are 'ready'. "It's better to have empty hands when setting out, to leave room for hoarded trinkets and lessons learned." Oof! Love that line. This feels like something that gets skipped sometimes between the call and crossing the threshold. The allusions to Arthur are also excellent.

  • Shirley Belk2 months ago

    This is brilliant! If all you have is want and teeth you have enough. If all you want is enough, you don't.

  • I've never been more ready in my life, Suze. Of course, I've also never been less ready. My life is kinda boring. But I like your poem.

  • Lamar Wiggins2 months ago

    After reading this, I do feel ready! This was motivational for me and well-wrought! Thank you!

  • Test2 months ago

    Stunning Suze. I loved the hopeful upliftng message so much! 🤍

  • K. Kocheryan2 months ago

    Ugh, this was just amazing. "bathed in the empty light of movies you watch like training videos." This line. It got me. Lovely work as always.

  • John Cox2 months ago

    This feels as though your words and thoughts burst forth fully formed from some secret place in the mystical soil of art and feeling. I can easily imagining you furiously writing to capture each and every word before the wonder of its revelation slipped from your grasp. But I also like to think that every line was hard won, that your vision gathered force as you meticulously plotted and charted each line, the rhythm and power of the poem slowly building until you knew in your heart its completeness. However you wrote it, it is an extraordinary poem of beauty, imagination and power. Very well done, Suze! Very well done indeed.

  • Paul Stewart2 months ago

    Just, Suze. You are just...such a good writer...such a poet through and through...you write so exquisitely...while also digging deep and finding away to connect with your readers. I am forever feeling in your shadow...in the best possible way. I could pick out huge chunks of this...but then I'd be writing as much in this comment section that you wrote in your whole piece. lol. Just stunning, Suze. Thank you for furnishing us with your gift.

  • angela hepworth2 months ago

    A beautiful, thought provoking piece about time and opportunity!

  • this feels like it was written just for me 🥹 it’s so absolutely… relevant… as well as beautifully written….

  • Olivia Dodge2 months ago

    “If all you have is want and teeth you have enough. If all you want is enough, you don't.” Omg. Love it

  • Beautifully written, imaginative piece… Sorry though, I’m a little tired at the start of my holidays… hopefully someone else is ready today! Hopefully, I will be ready tomorrow!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.