Poets logo

The Butterfly and the Moth

A poem by Lizzy Pacem, written in 2010 during a time in which she had amnesia.

By Lizzy PacemPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Pictures colored by Lizzy Pacem in 2020

- I awaken staring at a blank, cold wall;

There's no one to talk to... no one to call.

My heart is burning, poisoned by pain.

My mind is screaming; I'm going insane.

- I have to stay strong and battle this Hell -

If I stop now, there'll be no more story to tell.

My struggles, my agony, the turmoil I hide

Keep battling within, trying to destroy me inside.

- In the darkness I've slipped into, I'm all alone.

No sound - just silence; no pitch... no tone.

No more beauty... no more life...

Only despair to cut through me like a knife.

- Pushing my emotions down further... deeper,

I face the Sower and the Reaper.

The first smiled at me with kindness in His eye;

The latter whispered evil as soft as a sigh.

- Both of them faced me with hands outstretch'd;

The righteous and clean, the tempter and wretch'd.

I stood and stared, unsure of my choice;

I tried to speak, but had no voice.

- My words meant nothing, I understood;

Actions screamed louder than the throat ever could.

Slowly... cautiously... my arms reached out

To my Father who loved me beyond all doubt.

- A whisper sounded in my ear:

"Wander carefully and choose wisely, my dear."

Once more, everything disappeared,

And on my soul was another scar seared.

- I knew then the test had only begun;

It was not something that I could easily outrun.

I could no longer childishly think of myself -

The others came first; my emotions would find the shelf.

- I hid in the darkness a few moments more,

Already afraid of what was in store.

Suddenly, sunlight met my window;

Finally, I couldn't stop myself from letting tears flow,

- I gathered the strength to move from my bed

To the rocking chair by the window; I wept there instead.

My tears splashed wood rather than sheet

As I hung my head, bowing in defeat.

- I didn't know how I could battle this storm

While still refusing to conform.

I realized it was impossible; I'd never be the same.

For my entire life I had been a piece in a game.

- All these years I had been broken down;

I had become an empty city, a shell of a town.

I opened my window, needing some air;

The wind caressed me and lifted my hair.

- My heart started to flutter and fill with hope

As I began to think about how I would cope.

A breath escaped my lips in a sigh

Just as, through my window, came a butterfly.

- Its wings were black and spotted with blue -

The beat of my heart matched its wings as it flew.

It circled my head and landed on my hand,

Its touch lighter than a grain of sand.

- I grew slightly pale as I recognized the sign

Of Death in my room - a power divine.

In my worry, I glanced out the window;

Everything was still, no longer silent though.

- I heard the call of a blue jay somewhere in a tree,

Hidden away so the cruel world could not see.

A cardinal perched and ate at a feeder,

Its bright color marking it a strong bird, a leader.

- All of a sudden, the breeze made me shudder;

Then, something else came though the window with a flutter.

In came a small, gentle moth -

Its wings were ivory, petite, and soft.

- This soothing sign lifted my spirit,

Comforting me, giving me no reason to fear it.

The moth landed by the butterfly

Steadily... silently... seemingly shy.

- This beautiful sign of life and light

Inspired me, uplifted me, renewed my sight.

On my hand rested Death and Life,

Yin and Yang, Peace and Strife.

- The whole world was reflected in these two,

As was my life - I realized it was true.

Death ends Life, yet begins something else:

An eternity in Heaven or punishment in Hell.

- I had to choose which to follow -

To try to live or to die hollow.

I decided to live with all of my might,

To stand strong and not give up the fight.

- As if satisfied with my decision,

The creatures flew off, and I envisioned

Life chasing Death and Death chasing Life -

The Butterfly and the Moth, silent and lithe.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Lizzy Pacem

I have experienced many things over my long life, and all of these things influence my writing. I have been an advocate for the arts since the beginning of the concept of art, and I hope to inspire others to embrace their inner creators.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.