Poets logo

What is Heaven? What is Hell?

A poem by Lizzy Pacem, written in the 1920s during the time of her lost husband.

By Lizzy PacemPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1
Pictures taken by Lizzy Pacem in 2019

- What is Heaven

But a place I cannot reach?

Yet I still feel it beckon.

- Is it an obsession

That only good people have?

What is Heaven?

- I do not go to confession.

I am not perfect by any means,

Yet I still feel it beckon.

- Is it a place without transgression?

A place without any faults?

What is Heaven?

- My soul reeks of darkness and depression.

I know I'll never make it to that place,

Yet I still feel it beckon.

- I am coated in painful oppression.

There will never be peace for me; I will never know...

What is Heaven?

Yet I still feel it beckon.

- What is Hell

But the place I am in?

The place where I fell?

- Is this a cell

That I will always be stuck in?

What is Hell?

- My soul I did sell

To the darkness around me in

The place where I fell.

- I am not well.

Is it this place that makes me sick?

What is Hell?

- There is no music; there is no bell;

There is nothing here that pleasant in

The place where I fell.

- There is no church, no citadel.

I have found the answer to the question,

"What is Hell?":

The place where I fell.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Lizzy Pacem

I have experienced many things over my long life, and all of these things influence my writing. I have been an advocate for the arts since the beginning of the concept of art, and I hope to inspire others to embrace their inner creators.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.