Poets logo

The Burn

Poem

By Ella DormanPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2

The burn is what gets me,

The chaotic need to be loved.

And yet when I read your name,

I see red.

The pain you so freely cause me,

Tearing up my heart.

You act as if a simple “I love you.”

Removes the ache that I feel.

I cannot breathe without the piercing pain,

As it stabs through my beating red heart.

The rest of me has gone,

Cold and gray.

As if I had given up,

Nothing left the breath for.

A tiny flicker of hope,

Only for it to come crashing down.

It was originally posted here: The Burn.

Note: This is based on a writing prompt for the words “red” and “pain.”

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Ella Dorman

I am a homeschooling mother of 5 by day and a college student and writer by night.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jazzy 8 months ago

    Whew I felt this😅

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.