Poets logo

The Boxing Prophet

The Love of Boxing

By ♣️◼️𝓢𝓟𝓞𝓚&𝓝Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Boxing Prophet
Photo by DIAO DARIUS on Unsplash

I vowed to get in the ring, wanted to be the people’s

champ, you know what I mean. I’ll fight for my

dreams; I had a little fight in me. Internal pain

motivated me, trained hard as I could six days a week.

I refused to be beaten, banged on the heavy bag,

thought about all my pain. Channeled my anger as I

trained, increased confidence I gained. Dedicated

myself in the gym like it was my sanctuary. As I

refrained from the streets, I changed my old ways,

and learned not to gang bang. GD was what I

claimed—my first bout I had my hand raised as the

golden gloves champion. “Yo, that girl is

extraordinary; surely, she shall be world champion

one day,” I overheard spectators say. More

inspiration I gained, bobbed and weaved as I trained,

wanted to get my family out of poverty. Hmm, who

could roger that, you must be quicker than that, hand

and feet coordination was exceptional. You could bet

a buck. I patted myself on the back, self-talked as I

trained; my imagination was my greatest tool. My

self-discipline and determination are why others gave

accolades and praise due to my hard work and

dedication. Had a team of family not friends; it was in

my nature to represent. Told my trainers my desire to

be the people’s champ. Prophesied over my dreams,

used my talents for Christ’s sake, knowing that one

day he will surely make room. I shall keep my hand

raised as I follow him.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

♣️◼️𝓢𝓟𝓞𝓚&𝓝

Author of No More Hushing the Truth

Motivational Speaker, Life Coach& youth advocate.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.