Poets logo

Blue Line Corruption

A Former Officer Tells Her Story Through Poetry

By ♣️◼️𝓢𝓟𝓞𝓚&𝓝Published 3 years ago 2 min read
1
Blue Line Corruption
Photo by Sushil Nash on Unsplash

The first day I made an impression; then came

interrogation. Millions of questions from more than

one race. I was the victim of separation and hate; it is

true—misery does love company. Hear the questions

they asked me. “Why do you want to be a police

officer?”

“Why do you ask?” I replied. “Is it because I’m

female?” Sexism and racism, I experienced the first

week. I know it’s rare for women to want to be the

police; at least that’s what some men think. I

chuckled. A fool must have raised you; that’s not how

gentlemen think. Show some chivalry, respect my

badge, welcome me with respect. I wore my badge,

bold and proud; disbelief filled their eyes. That very

moment I got bullied on the job. No matter my work

ethic, I was still rejected. They threw my reports

around and laughed at me out loud. Told false

testimonies to the chief, with intent to damage my

reputation. Behaved like teenage kids, spread phony

rumors about me without a telephone ring. Turned

the entire department against me. In roll call they

segregated me, would not let me take a seat. They

failed to discern it was God who hired me. I was an

officer among wolves, and I was the only sheep. Of

course, they felt threatened by me; they did not

understand how I can be wise as a snake and

harmless as a dove and refuse to be corrupt. Again,

“Why do you want to be a police officer!” They dared to

know. Oh, my, they asked me, forced me to give a

reply. Gosh, did I mention they said they would

get me drunk? “Hang around a little longer; sooner or

later you won’t be sober.” When they realized they

couldn’t win me over, they were convinced that I was

undercover. Created new rules because of me, bossed

me around. Sergeants were arrogant and proud.

Commanded me to adhere to their rules or else I

would be written up for—what’s that word?—

insubordination. Blamed everything on the rookie,

and had no one to vouch for me. They deceived the chief

and turned him against me. Terminated me with little

to no evidence; I was the victim of hearsay. Your

magistrate, may I speak sincerely? Rather hired or fired,

I will remain an officer, because I belong to the king;

ask David, he will tell you. Sorry, Saul, I intimidated

you all! I thought I took an oath just like y’all.

social commentary
1

About the Creator

♣️◼️𝓢𝓟𝓞𝓚&𝓝

Author of No More Hushing the Truth

Motivational Speaker, Life Coach& youth advocate.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.