Poets logo

The book

a poem

By Deasun T. SmythPublished 2 years ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
1
The book
Photo by Fang-Wei Lin on Unsplash

Let them have their stressful days

But please don’t include me in your stressful ways.

For I’ll much rather look —

When I have a book.

Cause a book in hand is like bird wings

Flying to different worlds with all sorts of things.

Goblins fighting for some gold

Children not doing what they’re told.

Elves with their faces pale

Or in the winter lands of hail.

Silver rivers rising in the storm

Mysterious men who can change their form.

Staring into eyes of doom

Sitting with tea in a room.

So yes, yes, you can be stressed

But when I’m reading my book, I’m blessed.

book reviews
1

About the Creator

Deasun T. Smyth

I’m a First Nations 16 year old young man, probably an old soul (not that there's anything wrong with that). I live in Saskatchewan, and I love reading, writing, conlanging, and collecting sarcastic T-shirts.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Veronica Coldiron2 years ago

    Too true! And also, Stephen King said that if you're not a reader, you'll never be a great writer. This was well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.