Poets logo

The Boogeyman

Everyone has a monster they don't want anyone to see.

By AJ ThomasPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Boogeyman
Photo by Stefano Pollio on Unsplash

I will never rid the monster,

That has come a knockin’,

Who has stolen away my peace,

Crept up on me like a thief,

Hidden in the shadows,

Snatching up all the light,

There is nothingness now,

Only but pitch-black darkness,

It lurks where you wouldn’t expect,

Around every corner,

I tiptoe through life,

In hopes I don’t wake it,

For when it sleeps,

My heart can breathe,

When it is at rest,

I have you,

The you that I know,

The you that I love,

For when the monster awakens,

My you disappears,

There is no more Mr. Nice Guy,

No more I love you’s,

Or affectionate words,

Spoken with loving passion,

Only vile malicious slurs,

Words spoken in hate,

Hiding the man that I know you can be,

Who you once were,

The one that I fell in love with,

Becomes smothered away,

I hide underneath the blanket,

Of the memories that we once shared,

All of the good times we used to have,

Are saved for another day,

When the boogey-man shows it’s ugly face,

And decides to come out to play.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

AJ Thomas

Self proclaimed creator of literary masterpieces. Wife, mother of 3 teenagers, poet and aspiring author.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.