Poets logo

The Black Sheep (Poem)

I’ve become fragile as a frightened little kid...

By Joanne GuillardPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
The Black Sheep (Poem)
Photo by 🇸🇮 Janko Ferlič on Unsplash

I’ve become the version of me you see

Swept under the rug like a dark secret

Nothing that I can conceive

I’ve become nothing in your mind but a rag doll

To be pushed around and use whenever

Chosen to be blamed for the mistakes you started

Made to be a statue in your game of lonely hearts

Picked me up whenever you were bored

Covered up the existence of me

Until you were ready to bash into my head

The words that can’t be ignored

Sorrow follows, after every attack

Subjected to ridicule

I’ve become fragile as a frightened little kid

Hiding under covers of misused hope

I’ve been hidden, so, no one knows my true identity

Struggling restlessly, through your maze

I’ve learned to drown out the noise

Indulge in useless trends

Controlled by you, makes me feel hollow

The texture of these rooms, caged in like an animal

Unoccupied, eaten up my insides

I forgot how to live

My tears became like a thunderstorm

Washed out, broken record

Closed minds are contagious

Communication is nonexistent

© Joanne Guillard

This poem is from my book Poetry is My Therapy

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

Joanne Guillard

Writer and Photographer

www.joanneguillard.com

Instagram: @joanneguillard

Twitter: @authorjoanneg

YouTube: journeywithjoanne, Joanne Guillard

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test4 months ago

    Outstanding work, Joanne!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.