Poets logo

Hills and Valleys

The wilderness and darkness watching over

By Joanne GuillardPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
2
Hills and Valleys
Photo by Sebastian Unrau on Unsplash

Got lost in the pain

Tried to cover up the shame

Suffering in silence

Opening old wounds

Became a lifelong project

Missed warning signs

Right in front of your eyes

You see the tears

Wished you would have comforted my fears

I’ve been to war and back again

The wilderness and darkness watching over

I long for words to be spoken

I dreamed of a place to pursue my propose

Still holding on to old scars

Like yesterday’s sunset

Realizing only God can set me apart

Gets blurry

While images go back and forth

Had it all along

Lost myself in a whirlwind of secrets

Even though I try

These walls keep getting higher

It became a game of hiding and seek

Praise Him in the storm that’s how I learned to

Rely on His strength

Copyright © 2024 Joanne Guillard

If you enjoy my work, please consider supporting me by buying me a coffee or checking out my author page on Amazon. Also, check me out on YouTube, Instagram, Apple Music, and Spotify.

Subscribe to my Newsletter

slam poetrysurreal poetryperformance poetryMental HealthGratitudeart
2

About the Creator

Joanne Guillard

Writer and Photographer

www.joanneguillard.com

Instagram: @joanneguillard

Twitter: @authorjoanneg

YouTube: journeywithjoanne, Joanne Guillard

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.