Poets logo

~The best of all the years!~

Almost like a family! :/

By Jennifer CooleyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
~The best of all the years!~
Photo by Tyler Nix on Unsplash

~The best of all the years~

The best of all the years

Have gone by,

And that’s the way

You wanted it,

And I’ll never know why?

But the best of all the years

Have gone by,

My heart, aches and longs

For those children in my memory

From those times,

I think about how great

An Aunt or cousin

Or friend I could have been?

And the reality of knowing

Just how close I was to

Having a real family that

I could call my own;

That would quiet my mind

And sober my heart.

All of this for the only family

That’s ever been home

To me,

Always!

The best of all the years

Have gone by,

And until the day I die,

I’ll never understand all

The reasons why,

I’ve lost out on knowing

My family?

And there’s nothing that

Can be done to give that

All back to me.

Decisions had to be made,

Things had to change

Life has to go on in

Someway,

But I’ve lost out on knowing

My family, and that’s

Going to hurt this Orphan’s

Heart Forever!

The Best of all the years

Have Gone by,

Why couldn’t I be happy

And have a life like I wanted to?

But the best of all the years

Have gone by,

And I’ll never know why

I had to be the one to say

GOOD-BYE?!

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Jennifer Cooley

I've been writing as long as I could hold a crayon! Remember writing my first story like it was yesterday at 5. I remember the details of the day, location, time, excitement & where the story was preserved for all time! Lots Born From That!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.