Poets logo

The Bench

A Common Bond

By Dan R FowlerPublished 10 months ago 1 min read

The Bench

I sit upon this bench as I’ve done before,

The one that’s been a friend, a friend to me, and I adore.

It provides me with friendship and time to myself,

When life is so busy and I need a little help.

It’s been years we’ve sat together near the piers

Through good times with smiles, sad times with tears.

No matter the reason you’ve never turned me away,

Or asked me to return on some other day.

Your time spent sitting by the shore,

Has allowed you and me to feel so much more.

It’s those moments when sitting as we have done,

Allows you to understand why people have come.

To share your space, each plank, each curved piece of wood,

Gave each visitor a reason to share what their hearts could.

Whether sorrows or smiles or whimsical thoughts,

You welcome them all providing the solace that’s sought.

I sit here with you during this time of my life,

Without malice or hatred or any portion of strife.

For life hasn’t been exactly what I had envisioned,

But provided me with what was intended without indecision.

Gray hair and aging stance to this bench I advance,

And spent one of life’s gifts as I take my stance.

This bench, this time, this reckoning of some kind.

Was intended for me to sit, sharing thoughts marking time.

vintage

About the Creator

Dan R Fowler

Dan R. Fowler. 71, writing is more than a hobby, it's a place for me to become anyone I choose to be, visit mystical scenes, or swim deep within my brain. e-book paperback, or audible. type dan r fowler on the search line. Amazon

.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Kendall Defoe 10 months ago

    We all need our own space. I try to find it in different places, but I always return to the same spots. Thank you for this one!

Dan R FowlerWritten by Dan R Fowler

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.