Poets logo

The Beauty Of The Night

Anxiety, Depression & Dark Comfort

By Misty RaePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
11
Photo Courtesy of the Author

The sky transforms from brilliant blue,

to stunning hues of pink, purple and gold,

And finally a soft velvety black,

Sprinkled with twinkling stars.

By Nathan Anderson on Unsplash

My racing heart slows.

My whirling mind begins to rest.

As the day fades into darkness.

The expectations of an unforgiving world,

Slowly give their way.

No more crowds.

No more lights.

No more noise.

Photo Courtesy of the Author

I feel my tightness loosen,

And I begin to breathe,

At one,

With time and space.

A weightless nothingness,

That's everything to me.

The cool cover of darkness,

Embraces my soul,

The way a mother comforts a crying child,

Warm in its chill,

Bright in its darkness,

Beauty in its stillness,

Allowing me to fade,

At least for a little while,

Finally, into Me.

inspirationalsad poetrynature poetry
11

About the Creator

Misty Rae

Retired legal eagle, nature love, wife, mother of boys and cats, chef, and trying to learn to play the guitar. I play with paint and words. Living my "middle years" like a teenager and loving every second of it!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Dawn Salois2 years ago

    Beautifully written poem with wonderful imagery.

  • Talia Devora2 years ago

    Beautifully crafted. This poem hits home!

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    I loved this so much!! I feel like I need to read it each night at bedtime. Your words and imagery were so calming and soothing. Wonderful poetry :)

  • Wonderfully evocative

  • John Eva2 years ago

    The images in my head and the images on the page coincide beautifully. Great writing!

  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    Love the imagery and your feeling this poem emotes ♥️🌹I am sorry for the anxiety, it’s just familiar and you learn to accept it’s apart of your being into the darkness.

  • Kat Thorne2 years ago

    Loved this, great job!

  • This was sooooo relatable! I especially loved this line: 'The expectations of an unforgiving world'. Your poem was so beautifully written and I loved it!

  • Colt Henderson2 years ago

    Enjoyed this. I find comfort in the dark as well.

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    This is beautiful. Really, really well done.

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Loving your impressive and outstanding poem!👏💖😊💕

  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    Lovely poem for the Comfort challenge. I have some catching up to reading your stories. ♥️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.