Poets logo

The Beauty Of The BWCA

A short rhyme of my time in the Boundary Waters Canoe Area

By Denise E LindquistPublished about a year ago 1 min read

The beauty of the bwca

I don't know what to say

when describing any part

I love it here and my heart

is so full

in nature, no bull

looking out at the lake

I can do it for hours as I bake

in the sun

I mostly sit in the shade hon

with little to no bugs

no need for drugs

the perfect weather to sleep

no alarms, no wifi beep

withdrawals will be here soon

missing social media by noon

we heard a loon

saw eagles and deer

quite near

the lake is still

with a bit of chill

in the early morning

I suppose it could be storming

it is not quiet

we are not on a diet

restaurant food has been great

we expected hot as it is of late

so little to no cooking for us

there will be no fuss.

We have a few birds this morning

flying around and singing

it's not quiet here

or there

but it is not the city

isn't it a pity

the city couldn't be more like the bwca

have fun today

I know I will on this Thursday.

We go home tomorrow

with some sorrow

we sometimes borrow

from today for the morrow

memories, written, a photo

or two taken to wrap with a bow

to remind us you know

of the beauty of the BWCA

Today and every day!

nature poetry

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Esala Gunathilake2 months ago

    Thanks for sharing Densie.

Denise E LindquistWritten by Denise E Lindquist

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.