Poets logo

Misunderstanding

The Fight

By Gunnar AndersonPublished 3 days ago 1 min read
Misunderstanding
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

You told me you were fine

Because you wouldn’t understand

What wouldn’t I understand

Anything

That’s not an answer

Because an answer would start a fight

We’re already fighting

A fight we can come back from

We’ve always come back

I’m scared that we wont

Just tell me what’s going on

I don’t want to fight you

You’re already fighting me

I don’t want to lose you

You’re not going to lose me

I just want you to understand how I feel

I do understand how you feel

You don’t

I do

Then why do you invalidate me?

I don’t invalidate you

You do

I don’t

Then why do you shut me out

I can’t

Just tell me

I can’t

I love you

I’m scared of you

sad poetrylove poemsheartbreakFree Verse

About the Creator

Gunnar Anderson

I am a young aspiring novelist with an arts degree in English Creative Writing with a focus in both fiction and poetry from Arizona State University where I made the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Dean's List upon my 2020 graduation.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Esala Gunathilake3 days ago

    Oh! How longing affects us. It was brilliantly crafted.

  • The fear of losing each other and the longing for understanding are palpable, through its heartfelt words, it portrays the challenges faced in love, thank you very much for sharing, love your poems, hope to read more, subscribed.

Gunnar AndersonWritten by Gunnar Anderson

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.