Poets logo

The Awakening

Bubble of Despair

By Lizzy GabrickPublished 13 days ago Updated 13 days ago 1 min read
Like
The Awakening
Photo by JOHN TOWNER on Unsplash

One day I was lost, enclosed in a seemingly impenetrable bubble of despair and regret,

uncertain as to why I allowed myself to fall so far for a man

who did not intend to plummet with me.

The next day, however, something awoke within me;

it was a new feeling of hope and promise,

something I had not felt in a very long time.

The awakening did not erase the past.

No, life did not work that way,

and I do not really want it to.

But to be free is an overwhelming sensation;

one I had forgotten existed in my plan

to live my present-day life within the comforting arms of history.

For more.

inspirationalStream of Consciousnesssad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Lizzy Gabrick

I spent many years reading and writing in my adolescence but have found inspiration has lapsed since I have become more settled into my adult life--a career and marriage. I look forward to changing that and sharing my creations with you.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Esala Gunathilake13 days ago

    Wow! The image is nice. And the poem too

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.