Poets logo

The Authentic Self

Poem for the road

By Tamara Tatevosian-GellerPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
The Authentic Self
Photo by Ricardo Rocha on Unsplash

Resting on the couch with pipe dreams and

Reaching for the stars in my imagination,

The sun rises and reality sets in

Behold, I see the light;

Dust on the corner table where I write,

Unfinished coffee on the mantle,

The remainders of neglect and profit

Coexisting in the guise of stability,

Harmony intact, fluidity be damned…

I realize what others won’t do for me

It stings, it hurts and I admit that

All I have are

This brain

This body,

And the promise of mindful spirituality

That drags me from my self imposed silo,

Scraping by, struggling, vulnerable.

Yet still sitting,

Clutching at the vestiges of my past and visions of the future,

With my mind, my body, and my soul

I choose to accept its gifts and choose to feel its pain wholeheartedly,

Because it’s a part of me,

Unequivocally mine;

So I keep trodding along

This arbitrary path,

Wherever it leads,

Simply me.

I bivouac under its pretenses,

Unpretending, I remain.

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Tamara Tatevosian-Geller

I am an aspiring writer and epidemiologist. When I am not writing my own poems and short stories, I am working on a new book, reading about epidemiologic discoveries, and learning new languages. Follow me on IG @tatevosian.tamara Thank you

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.