Poets logo

Ode to disillusionment

Goodbye love

By Tamara Tatevosian-GellerPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
6
Ode to disillusionment
Photo by Karim MANJRA on Unsplash

I write this in anguish,

For, you could never comprehend.

Impotent as you are impatient,

Halfhearted and indirect,

Passionless and unoriginal,

Unrelenting and malevolent,

Arrogant and petulant,

Fiery, spirited, yet uninspired,

You are truly uninspiring.

You are unsympathetic.

With your impenetrable gaze,

I enter an insufferable daze.

You are devoid of empathy and kindness,

Your heart shudders at the Siberia that is your soul,

Calculating. Eternally livid.

I count the days and hours that gave me hope,

No more.

Not an utterance as unique you have made,

Not a time as inopportune as we have met,

Not a love as incomplete as you have afforded me,

Not a thought you harbor is as unique,

Your unoriginality deludes. Deceives, even the best of us.

Here is my ode to our lifeboat that was merely limerence,

Un-sustaining, as tedious as you.

Here is my ode to the old days of lore,

The cozy crib of delusion I bore.

Soulless as you are draining,

Parasitic as you are rotten,

May I let you go, sooner than you can infest.

I regret the state of evolution that led mankind here-

When man learned to express love,

For, I know what is now amiss.

Uncomforting as you are hateful,

I have attained inquietude, eternally remiss.

love poems
6

About the Creator

Tamara Tatevosian-Geller

I am an aspiring writer and epidemiologist. When I am not writing my own poems and short stories, I am working on a new book, reading about epidemiologic discoveries, and learning new languages. Follow me on IG @tatevosian.tamara Thank you

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.