Poets logo

The Assassins Kill

A Poem

By Callie CoxPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
1

Time crawls slowly as my mind focuses.

One shot, silent.

Second shot, no one notices.

Third shot, he falls to the ground.

Timing is key.

The images of the assassination

run circles in my mind,

did I do it right?

The tiles fly underneath me

as I run on the hot rooftops,

jumping from house to house

in a way no one can spot me.

I’m like a hawk,

my eyes focusing

on the hideout right before me.

My mind starts to wander-

no, it can’t wander-

I need to focus.

Even the birds, flying beside me

don’t make a sound-

they know I can’t be spotted.

My father was killed by

the man I just murdered,

a harsh man who knew nothing of guilt-

a man of power.

Why must the powerful

kill the poor-

the lesser of the rich and famous?

It was treason, they said.

He was a criminal, they accused.

But, in reality

they were the murderers,

the cheaters and the thieves.

Besides, the man of power

got what he deserved.

I, however was never there.

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

Callie Cox

I am an English major in college. I live in Indiana and go to Ivy Tech Community College.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.