Poets logo

The Artist

Anathema

By Blake CappsPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
The Artist
Photo by Cosmin Gurau on Unsplash

It's almost like an artist is anathema to hope.

Not in what they make, but in the ways in which they cope.

With a subtle application of techniques for truth they grope.

An angel said she loved me then handed me a rope.

The reply that I gave her was first meant to be terse.

A livid recrimination spat out as a curse,

but my tongue it seems has failed me dried by a thirst

from the sight of your sweet visage no tears left for this verse.

So pity your dear artist, this mood you helped inspire.

His pen has made but kindling to feed a fading fire.

If his veins could bleed out music you would be his lyre.

If beauty is a glow, you seem a funeral pyre.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Blake Capps

I started writing to cope with my severe anxiety. I’m still anxious, but hey, at least now I’m also a writer.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Jill Fisher2 years ago

    Moods can be inspired….

  • Jeffrey Sparks2 years ago

    Very solid work. Enjoyed the read.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.