Poets logo

A Dream of Drowning

Without fear

By Blake CappsPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
A Dream of Drowning
Photo by JOHN TOWNER on Unsplash

The wheel it turns above my head

gnashing, roiling, singing dread

martyrs wake in dreams they bled

lambs the shepherds slaughter.

a mountain's summit under the seas.

The sails we needed seek the breeze.

At least the fire has spared the trees,

a canopy in the water.

Horizon growing with the tide.

No time for us is left to bide.

We learn to swim only to die

in arms of Neptune's daughter.

She sings me into sweetest sleep

the ever darkness of the deep

and now my heart is hers to keep.

So thankful I had sought her.

This poem is one of the only ones I've ever had come to me in a dream, and it feels very different from my other ones. I don't believe things like this really mean anything, but the imagery has given my some new inspiration.

Thank you for reading!

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Blake Capps

I started writing to cope with my severe anxiety. I’m still anxious, but hey, at least now I’m also a writer.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Jill Fisher2 years ago

    Dreams are the minds’ way of speaking to us… glad you were listening!

  • Lovely!

  • Rose May2 years ago

    I love this! So melodic and evocative, thank you so much for sharing.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.