Poets logo

The American Dream (Clear Skies)

A Poem

By Justin CarolPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
The American Dream (Clear Skies) by Justin Carol : The photo depicts the aftermath of a bombing at the 16th Street Baptist Church in Birmingham, AL on Sunday, September 15th, 1963

If I had a church

I would have a place to preach

To teach

Am I in the right place?

Yeah, I must be

That's what she said

never looking up at me

Her eyes were fixed on something

that mine couldn't see

Who knows?

Maybe it was the American dream

I didn't have the heart to tell her

the American dream wasn't made for us

It was made slightly out of reach

by those who are out of touch

to keep us playing the game

so they can keep winning the game

and keep us wading and waiting and wasting

But I've been watching since emancipation

the lies they spread through every station

Land of the free

Yeah, it's free

It was stolen from a murdered Nation

of red men

who thought they'd found new friends

but in the end

found they only had new reservations

And when they die

just find yourselves new worker bees

Abduct entire African countries

Break them enough they'll work for free

Call them slaves

Give them all new names

From the cradle

to the fields

to the trees

to the graves

How is nobody ashamed?

It's like genocide is in the past

it's old news

But if our perceptions never move

then the old rules are still being used

I'm not fooled

I can see the truth

You can't pull the wool over my eyes

You can't pull the shame over my eyes

You can't pull the money over my eyes

You can't pull the fame over my eyes

You can't pull the fear over my eyes

You can't pull your hate over my eyes

I'm immune to all of your lies

When I am right with God

I will always see clear skies

When I am right with God

I will always see clear skies

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Justin Carol

Author, poet, songwriter, and thinker of strange thoughts.

Creation is the addiction.

If you spend enough time with my words, you will know who I am.

www.justincarol.com

Social Media: @theJustinCarol

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.