Poets logo

The Affair

A Female's Truth

By danielle mariePublished 7 years ago 1 min read
Like

Here we sit in the corner booth where the lighting is so dim

I can barely see the food on my plate.

We’re out on a date but we’re in hiding as usual

Hiding from her

Hiding from him

We both have so much to lose and yet here we sit trying to hold on

To each other without losing the others.

It’s selfish and disgraceful the way we lie about our whereabouts

And how we’ve coaxed our friends into covering up for us

When our spouses ask questions.

Denial is a hell of a drug

And I swear they know their intuitions speak truths

But who wants to believe the one they love could be loving someone else?

Sometimes on my drive home from these hideaway dates

I imagine myself walking into our house

And telling him where I’ve been & who I’ve been with.

I imagine the look on his face when I’m done confessing

And how he’ll get enraged then sad and enraged again.

I’ll feel bad for his sadness but annoyed by his madness

And my arrogance will have me saying things like

“You should have seen this coming”

Even though I didn’t see it coming myself.

In order to save myself from the drama

I go home, take a shower to wash my secrets off me

And climb into the bed I share with a man I feel nothing for

To begin again tomorrow with the same lies I told today.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

danielle marie

i write because it is the only thing that makes me feel alive. i hope to influence others to find what their heart beats for.

IG: @eleven.twenty.four

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.