Poets logo

The 16th Minute

What happens after the 15 minutes are over?

By Roderick MakimPublished 7 months ago Updated 7 months ago 1 min read
5
The 16th Minute
Photo by Oleg Ivanov on Unsplash

…and then it was all over.

Sudden as it began.

Momentary importance

Of momentous worth

Suddenly of no

Import.

The cameras went blind, the microphones deaf.

The media

(Traditional, social and antisocial)

They all found so fast

Something more or

Someone else to talk about.

The circus moved on.

The clown remained.

__

...and every clown performs

The same

Act

Over and over

We all fall

Over and again

The only act

Of every clown

In the human circus:

Let’s hear it

For the Eternal Pratfall!

celebritiessocial commentary
5

About the Creator

Roderick Makim

Read one too many adventure stories as a child and decided I'd make that my life.

I grew up on a cattle station in the Australian Outback and decided to spend the rest of my life seeing the rest of the world.

For more: www.roderickmakim.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Mother Combs7 months ago

    Loved your poem

  • I usually say "Not my circus, not my monkeys". And then I realised that I'm the clown. Loved your poem!

  • Alex H Mittelman 7 months ago

    Great work! Awesome clown story!’

  • Rob Angeli7 months ago

    Send in the clowns! I love the play on "moment" and "import". Cool poem.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.