Poets logo

That Smile

Melting Everything That Sees It

By James FristikPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

Wake me up, I'm dreaming

Apple cheeks, nectar sweet

Light as a feather, beaming

Unbutton one, release the heat

Absent-minded, innocent

Focused; I can pretend

Admiring; my only intent

"Hi," sheesh, heart attack to fend

Breath, you baboon, say it back

Smile awkwardly, blah, faaaack

The silence of an idiot

Bridging fist to face, nope, stone cold

Bold, she looks me up and down

Shakes her head, amused

Confused, as only an absent mind can be

I shrug, what was that; rejected, fact

Unable to signal my tongue, I smile

Beaming all my thoughts in a cheesy grin

No Clooney here, just a small town boy

Looking for his way in this big world

Respect, she chuckles, probably at me

Choking out a "hi-ya" like a rejected cassette

All the energy in the room, stood there, her

She radiates with a calm aura, joyous

Never was much for the church

Yet I was witnessing an angel on earth

If at all was possible, I felt this was it

Standing there, snapping out of my trance

She disappeared, while I daydreamed

Though I still felt her aura, her smile

love poems
Like

About the Creator

James Fristik

Hobby writer since I was 11 years old, with a passion for poetry and short stories. Grew up in a small town that I found a home in, and enjoy the quietness of my nature engrossed life. Lover of animals and owner of two black labs.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.