Poets logo

That Friend of Mine

Wanderings

By SchmalzPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
1
That Friend of Mine
Photo by Adriano Cantarello on Unsplash

Is there anything out there

Or only this hazy view

Watching the water but its nothing to you

I wonder if they’re waiting for me

Will anything come to rise

Or is it hidden deep below

Under the rocks in those stones

Howling winds and rain was all I could find

Where do they come from

I’ve seen them flying high

Nothing around for this ole guy

Gets me a wondering how I will die

Are you waiting round the bend

When those purple clouds light up the evening sky

Everyday I dream of you and I

Is there anyone out there

Seen this friend of mine

Walking along with time

Someone with a broken heart like mine

How far must I walk

The roars of the river echo a scream

So I'm going upstream to find this friend of mine

And I long to find you just hanging around

Or am I destined to walk all alone

On every river stream never to be found

A man just tracking drops of time

I’ll keep on walking till I find that friend of mine

art
1

About the Creator

Schmalz

Welcome to my page! I am a writer whose interests are vast and believes in the art of the word. In my writing you will find Non-Fiction, Fiction, and poetry in pursuit of the value of language.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 months ago

    Hopefully you find that friend. Life is always better with a friend. Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.