Poets logo

Thanksgiving

Taste

By Rielle HeinPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Thanksgiving
Photo by Hannah Busing on Unsplash

You are a terrible cook

On Thanksgiving you burned the turkey so bad, your mother worried it was carcinogenic, so she wouldn't take a bite

And the scalloped potatoes were raw and sharp-bitter, green in patches with flecks of dusty skin

I remember the bottles of lukewarm sour red wine we washed the whole mess down with, and your father's drunken laughter, and the brussels sprouts in his teeth

And I remember the pumpkin pie we drenched with whip cream on account of the missing sugar

I remember the savoury on your teeth that night, the burned-bitter-sour of the last Thanksgiving at our house

I burn my toast tonight, because I can't remember how you taste

You are ash on my tongue, and I ache for every mouthful.

sad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Rielle Hein

I'm an amateur writer based out of BC, Canada, and I write loosely within the fantasy and science fiction genres, generally with an emphasis on queer people and stories. Any pronouns are fine!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.