Poets logo

Thankful for Divine Provisions

A free verse poem about being thankful for the simplest things life gives us. This poem was inspired by one of my favourite poems called “The Cassava Song”.

By Talia DevoraPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
5
Thankful for Divine Provisions
Photo by Chad Stembridge on Unsplash

This poem is dedicated to Nigerian poet/author Flora Nwapa (January 13, 1931- October 16, 1993).

I thank thee, Mother Earth

for harvesting the sacred fruits,

grains, legumes and vegetables.

Without thee, holy victuals,

my belly wouldn’t be

rejoicing and thriving.

I thank thee, Mother Earth

for permitting me

access to divine provisions.

Without thee, vegetation,

my spirits would be clogged

with the filth of refined ingredients

I thank thee, Mother Earth

for guiding me

and healing me.

I would suffer and struggle

without thy, heavenly presence

and intense, loving support.

I thank thee, Mother Earth

for transforming me

into the slim-and-trim damsel

who can run, boogie-woogie and stroll around freely

without sore, exhausted thighs, lungs and ankles.

By Justin Casey on Unsplash

Thank you taking the time to read another one of my poems. If you enjoyed reading this poem, please give it a ❤️, share it with others, comment and send me a tip/pledge to show your appreciation and support. To find and read more exciting content, please consider subscribing and visiting my public profile. Stay tuned for more awesome content!

Please feel free to connect with me outside of Vocal!

IG: @tdwrites24

FB: Talia Devora

I invite you to honour Flora Nwapa and her memory by reading this poem called “The Cassava Song”.

nature poetry
5

About the Creator

Talia Devora

Poetess, visual artist and lifestyle/quiz writer! My pastimes include reading, sleeping, gaming, music, fitness, etc! Be yourselves, be kind and value life! Let's connect and be friends!

My IG accounts: @tdwrites24 & @tdcreates97

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Brilliant!!!💖💕

  • A beautiful and empowering poem!

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    Powerful words, lovely delivery :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.