Poets logo

Impromptu

A free verse poem

By Talia DevoraPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
3
Impromptu
Photo by Simon Berger on Unsplash

This poem is dedicated to one of my best friends, C.P.

Laying on my bed

flat like a pancake

I did nothing but

listen to the music of the evening storm

on a blackened gloomy autumn night.

Like a little child

who woke up from a nap

I tip-toed

to my bedroom closet

and made an impromptu discovery.

An unused jigsaw puzzle

was hiding in my closet,

like an antiquated toy

that was never noticed,

utilized or respected.

Sitting with my legs crossed

on the beige wooden floor,

I assembled the puzzle

and I was a winner

of a solo brain-training contest.

The new, unexpected hobby

wiped the boredom

off my mind and body,

giving me a fresh beginning

to pure intellectual amusement and rapture.

By Bianca Ackermann on Unsplash

Thank you for taking the time to read one of my poems. If you enjoyed reading this poem, please give it a ❤️, share it with others, comment and send me a tip/pledge to show your appreciation and support. To find and read more exciting content, please consider subscribing and visiting my public profile. Stay tuned for more awesome content!

Please feel free to connect with me outside of Vocal!

IG: @tdwrites24

FB: Talia Devora

By Im3rd Media on Unsplash

surreal poetry
3

About the Creator

Talia Devora

Poetess, visual artist and lifestyle/quiz writer! My pastimes include reading, sleeping, gaming, music, fitness, etc! Be yourselves, be kind and value life! Let's connect and be friends!

My IG accounts: @tdwrites24 & @tdcreates97

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Lovely!!!💕

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    Loved this little slice of happy! I spent a lot of time putting puzzles together with my grandma when I was younger. Such happy memories :) Thanks for sharing!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.