Poets logo

Thank You, Friend

for naming me

By Sandra MatosPublished about a year ago 1 min read
3
Thank You, Friend
Photo by Shane Rounce on Unsplash

Dear Friend,

How are you still here

when anyone else would have run away?

How did you stay,

wading through the tears,

and misery,

self-pity, and

self-blame?

Where did you get those strong arms

that held me up

when I had no legs?

That held me still,

when I shook with fear?

Where did you get those eyes

that saw my beauty

through the film

of imperfection that I call

skin?

And how did you grow that heart,

where I live?

And who would I be,

if you were gone?

Thank you.

Sincerely,

Sandra

inspirational
3

About the Creator

Sandra Matos

I write so that people will remember me. I make art for the same reason. I had a mother that I never knew. Who she was, how she smelled, or what she valued. I don't want anyone to wonder who I was.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydred3 months ago

    Lovely supportive words

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    This is so beautiful and emotional! 😭❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.