Poets logo

Thank You

to the muses who have come and gone

By Caylie HausmanPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

You saw the writer

in me before I did

said “here you go,

I think you’d be good at this”

and handed me a notebook

full of blank prompts,

a guiding light for later

when you left.

I didn’t even register then

what you were saying,

recently I saw

the proposed

message

in the blankness.

I wish I

could say

Thank You…

If you’re reading

this–

Thank You.

I learned from you

things you can only learn

from being in an abundance

of love, I learned

to be a guiding light for

later,

when you

left.

Left me to write,

left me to create,

left me alone

because we both knew

that’s what was

right..

regardless of

how wrong it felt

in the moment,

we both knew I could write

and the life you wanted for

us wasn’t what I saw as right.

I wrote you away

in my head

and on paper but

I still haven’t

had the heart to

fill out the prompts

you left me.

I’ve put a lot of my

heart out there

anway.

Promptless.

My heart has rolled out of my sleeve.

I’ve learned to extend

the love you left

into scrolls,

and I hope you’ve had a chance

to build wonderful

things in life

with the love

I left.

Not the

in love,

because we

have let that go–

but the consensus

that we were once something

more friendly than

a casual hello.

We watched sunsets,

and sunrises,

and looked at each

other like we were the

only two, even when we knew

it wasn’t so.

Remember that night in the pool,

dancing like no one else existed;

a hot summer heat,

everywhere, sweaty as New Orleans.

...

The great debacle

of letting

go.

...

I wish I had received your note

in a bottle earlier, and written worlds

for you to keep

when you left

but I’m glad I kept those worlds for myself,

not sorry; they kept me

when you couldn’t.

I hope she carves

your love in stone and

you never let each other go

because you

deserve

that kind of permanence

and dedication in love.

Anyway, I just wanted to say

Thank You for being one who

left me to write,

to create,

solitary

sans confinement.

Thank you for

seeing me before I did.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Caylie Hausman

Caylie Hausman is a multidisciplinary artist, designer and writer based in the U.S. Contact [email protected] for more information. Thank you for reading!

IG and TT: @cayliehausman

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.