Poets logo

Terrific

This is how I see you

By Ana MarynskaPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

And yet you tell me,

“Upon waking, your morning coffee eyes struggling to focus through the sleep and your faint smile come to as you see me,

Your cognac eyes as the sun captures them when you finally escape the chaining shackles of your mind and stop staring at the ground and look up,

Your cunning, molten eyes when you’re invigorated and encouraged, head held high, looking down at the world that you’re about to take over,

Your glossed, brooding, ash brown eyes when you’re feeling utter despair, and every painstaking thought, every corroded feeling, skips through your facial expressions because you’re quite the opposite of ‘terrific’ at hiding your feelings.

So complex, yet so simple. Your mind taken over by trains of thought, leading simply straight, others taking backways, looping, turning around, going back and forth, sideways.

Your deadly sin is wrath; your anger is a suppressed blue flame that burns right under your skin as you take great care to not let anyone on, no matter how much your heart rattles. But even at a slight nick, it seeps out, demolishing everything within reach of you. Your wrath is terrific.

And sometimes I want to say “Mr. Gorbachev, tear down that wall.” The brick wall you put up in defense. The one that crumbles and withers as you get comfortable, but as more damage comes on, you replace every missing brick with a fresh one.

Our love is logical, yet so unreasonable. And I know I never leave your mind. I can see that your every action is filled with mindfulness for me. You live for me; your existence is intertwined with mine. You encompass me. And every waking moment, I long for you, my desire for you completely unfathomable.”

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Ana Marynska

I've been writing for a while but never thought it would amount to anything. Figured I would share some stuff :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.