Poets logo

Ten Minutes

By turner_desiree

By Jasmine TurnerPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
2

A lot has happened since the day I stepped outside

in a world who couldn't love a girl  who was genuinely inspired

by every minute, every moment, all the good there is to see

a lot has happened since you decided I wasn't worth the wait

the simple taste you took of me was too much 

now i get to watch you leave

The single drop that fell on me was enough to ruin me forever

you take, and you take, only leaving me to give what little will I have left

you take, and you take until i am nothing more than a mess of music 

no melodies make sense

no longing is deep enough to replace the memories of your indecent touch

it wasn't love, you know

it was only lust in the most malevolent sense of the word

you broke me with a smile on your face,  my tears on your lips

you bent me even after the break into someone so unrecognizable I see mirrors without seeing myself

concave, convex, to shattered to know the difference

I've cried out for help

not in the traditional sense, I've cried out at the bottom of the second bottle of Merlot

I've cried out between the one I bring home tonight and the one I'll most likely bring home tomorrow

I've cried out rolling loudly until I've forgotten to forget

I've cried out in clouds of white

I have been crying out all that I am since that night. 

I can't forget anymore, everything I do  to, is a reminder of all that you took

It's hard to believe that ten minutes turned into too much to bear

Ten minutes of my life turned into more than I can count on my fingers.

Ten minutes I will never get back turned into years of drowning just to feel yearned.

Not by them, but by me. 

You took that from me.

You.

heartbreak
2

About the Creator

Jasmine Turner

I found myself in writing. Reading others stories, realizing I had one to tell as well. I know that writing is my peace, my safe space, the place I return to day after day to have those uncomfortable conversations with myself. Welcome.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.