Poets logo

Tektal's Around the World Drinking Session!

Scottish-Tinged Extraterrestrial Challenge Entry

By Paul StewartPublished 8 months ago β€’ Updated 8 months ago β€’ 1 min read
First Place in Extraterrestrial Challenge
92
Created with Craiyon

Yer an alien, is tha' right, pal?

Did yee say yer name wis, Tektal?

Welcome, welcome, come right in

Tell me all aboot yer alien kin

Do yee like tae huv a swallae?

Yee ken...drinky drink, a bevvy?

Whit wid yee like tae start wae?

Ah think I'll git oot the whisky

Not on the rocks, or wae water

Drink it neat, as it hits better

Then we'll have a pint or three

Sum Belhaven, Guinness and Tetley

Across the Channel there's wine

Chianti and Pinot Grigio are fine

Have a big glass of strong brandy

Take the edge off with a wee shandy

We call this drink mother's ruin

It's gin o'clock, you'll be wasted soon

Next let's drink some fiery liqueurs

Sambuca, Ouzo, Raki and Apple Sourz

Followed by Good Ol' American wine

Beer, bourbon and dodgy Moonshine

Southwards next for some Tequila

then to stay healathy, kombucha

Maybe a Pisco Sour, Mezcal or four

Bouhka, Grogue, Bundy and lots more

Let's not forget a stiff Russian vodka

Then maybe some sweet Medovukha

Before downing some strong sake

Take a bottle or two, on the way

Back hame tae yer wife and kids

Bon voyage, my dear pal, I bids

*

Thanks for reading!

Author's Note: Scottish poem about drinking with an alien visitor so they can sample some of the best drinks from around the world. Was aware that some of my more recent work has been on the darker and more sombre side, so this is meant to lighten things a little. It's an entry into the Extraterrestrial Challenge, which you can find out more about below:

Basically the prompt is "Write a rhyming poem about the first thing you would introduce to an alien on Earth."

You can also take a look at these recent pieces:

You can also take a look at the rest of my work here.

social commentarysurreal poetryperformance poetryinspirationalhumorCONTENT WARNING
92

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (77)

Sign in to comment
  • Belleabout a month ago

    Loved this!!! The rhyming scheme blew me away. I loved your thoughtful take on this challenge.

  • John Cox4 months ago

    Congratulations! What a wonderful, international pub crawl!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)4 months ago

    Paul this was so great! I can’t believe I missed this (literal) winner!! Congrats and great work!!

  • Jess Boyes4 months ago

    So well done. Congratulations! 🎊🎈

  • J. R. Lowe4 months ago

    CONGRATS, PAUL!! So happy to see you finally got some well-deserved recognition. I loved this! I could hear the Scottish accent in my head when I read it bahaha

  • Gina C.5 months ago

    Oh, massive congratulations, my friend! Bravo! 😍 Amazing piece. I hope you are well! I've missed so much lately ❀️

  • Rene Peters5 months ago

    Congrats on first place! Definitely deserved!

  • Pamela Walsh-Holte6 months ago

    Honestly, I can not get the smile off my face! I love this! Congrats to you, very well done. Cheers!

  • Leslie Writes6 months ago

    Congrats on the win! Totally fun :)

  • Sara Wilson6 months ago

    Congratulations on your win! That's amazing!! πŸ€—πŸ€—

  • Ms.Love'Nia Renee6 months ago

    Brilliant, I loved the presentation I am sure they would enjoy a drink😘after getting a load of these EARTHLINGS!!!

  • Teresa Renton7 months ago

    Congratulations! This was just brilliant! πŸ˜‚

  • Megan Malcolm7 months ago

    Congratulations!!!! This is fantastic, so well deserved!

  • Kristen Balyeat7 months ago

    OMG!!!!! How in the universe did I miss this??? CONGRATULATIONS, pal, on this amazing piece and on your WIN!! Woot woot! Well done and standing ovation for you! This was so fun to read!! So happy to see you at the top- well deserved!!! πŸ™ŒπŸ½πŸ‘πŸ½πŸ’žπŸ’«πŸ‘πŸ½πŸ‘πŸ½πŸ‘πŸ½πŸ‘πŸ½ *just catching up on some Vocal and realizing I missed this announcement!

  • Bex Jordan7 months ago

    CONGRATULATIONS, PAUL!!! I audibly gasped when I saw you'd won first place!!! Well won and well-deserved, sir! What a great way to introduce an alien visitor to all the best our humble planet has to offer πŸ˜πŸ‘½πŸ»

  • Alexander McEvoy7 months ago

    That was really funny Paul! Loved how wasted that poor alien must have gotten in this one

  • Poppy 7 months ago

    Been meaning to say congratulations on the win!! I was so happy to see your name in the list of winners!!!

  • Dean F. Hardy7 months ago

    I haven't been around much lately Paul, absolutely delighted to see you in the winner's circle, and for something authentically Scottish and you. Loved it man, gave me plenty of smiles and the phonics were so enjoyable to read haha.

  • Zara Blume7 months ago

    You named all my greatest friends. I’ll drink to that! Congratulations.

  • Darkos7 months ago

    You have missed omitted Polish Zubrowka and Indian Corona 😁but I forgive ha I told You you gonna Win I knew it's coming for You and with what an entrance many drinking in there in the linguistict Scottish word play really awesome Great one ! Congratulations,, πŸ₯³πŸ₯³πŸ₯³πŸ₯³πŸ₯³! and Cheers! Hope you had time to celebrate ☺️it with some favorite drinks !

  • Excellent Paul. Congratulations on your win!

  • Fouzia Noureen 7 months ago

    This is really appreciate able story

  • Hannah Moore7 months ago

    This is great fun, congratulations!

  • Completely missed this Paul, really made up for you, excellent work and a well deserved win

  • Atomic Historian7 months ago

    Congratulations!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.