Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

teeth

an act of mercy

By Trinity HPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - January 2024
38

Can you feel it?

Like thousands of ants running down your skin

Like hot oil pushing through your veins

Like swallowing concrete

Can you feel it?

An elevator drop

Spotty vision

Clenched fists

Can you feel it?

I'm screaming for fairness, for mercy, for peace and comfort and rightness

But I'm sitting on the floor counting the lines of the tile

Stealing anger from tomorrow

Can you feel it? My anger?

Lay your hand on me and flinch from the heat

Watch as I watch as you watch me

A lion behind a cage

You are not the one who locked me here

But if the metal bars shift and offer me lenience

My teeth will not care who's neck I bite into

surreal poetryStream of ConsciousnessCONTENT WARNING
38

About the Creator

Trinity H

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (21)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna 3 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳

  • Novel Allen4 months ago

    Nope, I don't need the concrete, I got enough of it already. This is so intense, I actually feel the concrete tightening. Great descriptive writing, Congrats.

  • sleepy drafts4 months ago

    Wow! This is everything. Beautifully done. Congratulations on Top Story!

  • A. Lenae4 months ago

    I felt empathy and tingly worriedness while reading this, and then there was like a buzzing type of righteous rage when consuming from bottom to top. This entire piece has teeth, and your voice is electric. So good!

  • Kenny Penn4 months ago

    Chilling and oh so enjoyable. Great poem and congrats on TS, Trinity.

  • Ken Douglas4 months ago

    Your poetry is interesting. Buy I love this guy's poetry 👇 https://www.facebook.com/100010296994439/posts/2183692751983937/?mibextid=rS40aB7S9Ucbxw6v I found it on Facebook and it was worth my time!.

  • Test4 months ago

    Outstanding! Keep striving for greatness—congratulations!

  • Naomi Gold4 months ago

    Yes, I feel it! Righteous anger. All positive changes come from someone who has simply been pushed too far and had enough. Love this for you. 🩷

  • JBaz4 months ago

    Backwards , forwards sideways, it doesn’t matter, it is brilliant anyway it is read. Congratulations

  • Caroline Jane4 months ago

    Oh yeah. Felt it. Visceral.

  • Rachel Deeming4 months ago

    This hit me hard, with its anger and suppressed savagery being forced into being.

  • Toby Heward4 months ago

    Great stories

  • Emma Kate Coleman4 months ago

    Wowza. So gritty! Well done. 👏

  • Suze Kay4 months ago

    This is really moving. Was it written for the inverse challenge? If not, you should absolutely submit it! It is such a little mind warp of a poem. Phenomenal writing!

  • Catsidhe4 months ago

    Beautiful and deeply affecting!

  • Fly Alone4 months ago

    Painfully written: A lion behind a cage You are not the one who locked me here But if the metal bars shift and offer me lenience My teeth will not care who's neck I bite into :😔

  • Natasha Collazo4 months ago

    Oof. I felt the rage. 👏

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    excellent piece. Congrats on the TS

  • Margaret Brennan4 months ago

    congratulations on TS. very well deserved. your poem is so true.

  • Christiane Winter4 months ago

    Incredibly poignant, i've read this no less than 4 times, and every time I do, it hits a little harder. Congratulations on TS!

  • Wow. I feel that

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.