Poets logo

Teenage Soul

Was supposed to be a love poem reminiscent of my schooldays, but it went out of control

By Mohammed DarasiPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
8
Teenage Soul
Photo by Marek Piwnicki on Unsplash

Its a cliché, but your smile captivates me

Puts me in a trance and animates me

My soul dancing and prancing within me

When you look at me.

Piercing eyes melting the walls within me

-

Whenever I see you in the morning a thought enters my mind

What is she going to do

Will she turn around and smile?

or continue listening on her phone until the song is through?

Will she be happy to see me?

or ignore me and go hanging out with her crew?

The agony of the questions pulling my mind in two

Should I approach and say hi or sit back and slouch on the side

It’s not life or death, so why am I so stressed?

A simple interaction between two of the human faction

Nothing serious and nothing acute

Nothing scary or hard to compute

Just push through but don’t be a brute

Just say hi and see what comes through

-

Stupid thoughts of a teen in-between

Two sides of life, so confusing and unclean

Childhood and adulthood, to which should I conform

Unsure and unrelenting thoughts of what’s the "norm"

I still like cartoons, but they tell me to burst out of the cocoon

Into adult life so suddenly, it felt like a hurricane

Or a typhoon of emotion and thoughts

Swirled into some unknown existence

In the pit of my mind to this day so persistent

Making me question if I ever really left childhood

Or am I an imposter child roaming adulthood in a coat and hood.

love poemssocial commentaryperformance poetry
8

About the Creator

Mohammed Darasi

I write fiction, poetry and occasional articles about interesting topics. I recently created a website (just because) which I will be posting my writing in (among other things). it would be great if you check it out. https://mindpit.co.uk/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Antoinette L Brey6 months ago

    This was really good. Very relatable

  • Naomi Gold7 months ago

    As soon as I read the subtitle I knew this would be good. I love when my own writing surprises me, and when other writers are surprised by theirs. I can’t say I relate to this, but it was so well written that I easily connected with how you feel.

  • Sshhh, don't tell anyone but I'm an 8 year old running around in an adult body, lol!

  • Cathy holmes7 months ago

    It's more fun to be an imposter child. Great piece.

  • Hannah Moore7 months ago

    Arent we all? It took me to 40 to realise we are all pretending!

  • Stephanie Hoogstad7 months ago

    I love those ending lines, “Making me question if I ever really left childhood / Or am I an imposter child roaming adulthood in a coat and hood.” They are so relatable. I think we all feel that way, at least at some point. Well done.

  • Sid Aaron Hirji7 months ago

    sweet-captivates the mind in these situations.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.