Poets logo

Tears

A poem about Motherhood

By Nailah RobinsonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
3
My oldest daughter and I on my first Mother's Day back in 2003

I cried when I learned the news

You were on your way

I cried when I felt you move

It was the sweetest feeling, I must say

I cried when I felt your kicks

You were so very strong

I cried when I heard your heartbeat

It became my favorite song

I cried when I saw your first video

You were already a star

I cried as they chanted push, push, push

I had to push so hard

I cried when I first saw you

It was love at first sight

I cried when you cried

I knew for you I would always fight

I cried when you finally spoke

Letting your voice be heard

I cried when you took your first step

Something in me stirred

I cried the first time you fell

I wanted to catch you every time

I cried when I left without you

I felt like I committed a crime

I cried on your first birthday

My little baby no more

I cried on your first day of school

As soon as you walked through the door

I cried through your teens

You thought you knew, but you didn’t know

I cried through your school plays and graduations

You were always the star of the show

I cried through your engagement

He was the man of your dreams

I cried on your wedding day

Everyone could see you two made the best team

My mother, my daughter is the one photoshopped in, and me

I cried when you told me you were expecting

It changed my entire world view

I cried when I held her in my arms

And I passed my tears to you

Please share, tip, and heart

inspirational
3

About the Creator

Nailah Robinson

Author, Mother, Wife, Sister, Daughter, Cousin, Daughter In Law, Sister In Law, Friend, Grand Daughter, Niece, Teacher, and Student. I am so many things to so many people, but in the end, I'm just Nailah.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.