Poets logo

Tears in a dish.

A letter to my beloved

By Emi Published 2 years ago 2 min read
Like

This story was written when I thought something tragic had happened and my partners soul had embarked.

If something does ever happen my love and your soul embarks on it's final flight, Know with every fleeting second metamorphisis will take hold and I like a shivering child on a cold night will seek refuge in her mothers plooms that had warmed her so long ago and raised her to fly. I will run to the temple gates and sell the name you had given me in the very same place. Love. She dies. For millions of lifetimes you have touched my lips and for a million more you shall. I will use this life you've given me to learn what you had so wanted me to find. Peace. those who fall hard fall fast they say, you have left me so sudenly & if this morning was the last time we would have touched I regret the bathwater I drowned your touch in. I would wear it like war torn skin for the rest of our lives. Greatness was you name. Is your name. I was yours. I am yours. You never left but you left ME.

I was 15 when I layed my eyes on you and today I am as old as the universe. we have spent a lifetime together. I was thinking of going to big sir like we always mentioned but with a special ending. I would take a swift jump and hit the ice water like it led home. and it does. the missed calls are all I need. It's 9pm. Honey, Dinners at 6. You silly boy. How could you be so late. I made your favorite. Tears in a dish. If I get an alarming ring this evening know to wait for me I won't be so far behind you. the rest will work itself out. Part of me hopes you've run away with a pretty girl just to know maybe one day I can catch a glimpse of you in the street and we could exchange smiles. acting as if your piercing eyes have never underdressed me and your hands have never held me.but we both know you wouldn't.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Emi

I love to paint with I's and Os

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.