Poets logo

Tayta's Simsmiyeh

My Favourite Childhood Snack

By Claire von HavenPublished about a month ago 1 min read
Top Story - March 2024
17
Tayta's Simsmiyeh
Photo by Tom Hermans on Unsplash

Growing up biracial meant I was exposed to foods galore.

Fattoush, ghuma, hummus, mujadara,

Waraq enab and more.

The aroma of sizzling onions with garlic and olive oil

Is a warm staple to my memory of Tayta's toils…

To keep all of her family well-fed.

She runs on instinct only, it seems,

Because each morning she rises, creaking at the knees,

To cook and create plates of heaven

For those who she often sees.

My favourite of the things she makes are little nut squares called Simsmiyeh.

Made of toasted peanuts and sesame seeds, these honey-dripping treats have a distinct flare:

An ode to the poor back home,

Who have to sift and search through soil, dirt, loam

To find a hummus, a nut, growing alone.

A treasure these squares truly come to be:

They excite your mouth after the very first crunch; so sticky that they stick to your teeth.

But the honey is also smooth, and oh so delicious, so feel free

To take another one… two or three,

Of Tayta's Simsmiyeh.

FamilyFree Verse
17

About the Creator

Claire von Haven

I'm Claire – author of the fantastical. I have a unique writing style that strays from the mundane humdrum which has perverted modern literature.

This is a platform for my favourite hobby: writing!

Patreon houses all of my work.

Tip Jar :)

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Joe O’Connor2 days ago

    Really enjoyed reading this one Claire, and you blend evocative imagery with nostalgia and flashes of another culture. “ Made of toasted peanuts and sesame seeds, these honey-dripping treats have a distinct flare:” is a lovely line🤗

  • Christy Munson15 days ago

    Congratulations on your placement in the Snacktime Sonata challenge!

  • Andrea Corwin 27 days ago

    Create plates of heaven - such a wonderful description and memory/tribute. Congrats on TS and thanks for sharing your treats.

  • Ameer Bibi30 days ago

    Congratulations 🎉 for top story really like your sense of humor in your writing

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a month ago

    Congratulations.

  • ROCK about a month ago

    I loved the sensuous descriptive nuances of this ode to your Tayta's legacy. I subscribed! Congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more! Good job,

  • Vicki Lawana Trusselli about a month ago

    Congratulations on your top story ! I am what I call multi nationalities across the globe DNA . I hear you !

  • Oneg In The Arcticabout a month ago

    I love the warmth and color to this <3

  • Hannah Mooreabout a month ago

    My mouth is watering. I want me some of that.

  • P.A.Vinura Jayasankaabout a month ago

    It took me to a different level, enjoyed it. Congratulations on the top story!

  • Joe Pattersonabout a month ago

    Outstanding.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.