Poets logo

Tattoo Series

p.1 - p.17

By Amanda ReifertPublished 2 months ago 20 min read
1

Tattoo Series prologue

I was raised by a badass mother with some seriously cool ink. My older sister was a rebel from a young age, and she instilled in me a sense of IDGAF that I still carry with me to this day. Both women, along with countless media icons (Billie Joe, anyone?), inspired my love for body art. Folks with tattoos are the best of our kind. They have always fascinated me. I often find myself staring, wondering what each individual piece means to the owner. Maybe they mean nothing. Maybe they mean everything.

There was never a time where I didn’t have a list of tattoos that I wanted to get done. My teen years were spent obsessing over different images I wanted plastered across my skin; what odd places I could adorn with permanent words and phrases. My list would change frequently; ideas would come and go. Whatever fantasies I had were filtered down over time. To this day, I still have my list. It’s pretty sizable at the current moment; I have a couple of high-priced pieces I’ve been dreaming of getting someday...

Despite wanting to get inked for most of my childhood, I actually didn’t get my first one done until I was 19. 9 years later, I have 17 tattoos and several more on deck. For a bit I thought it would be fun to have as many as your age; each year a different mark on your body. We’ll see if I ever get there. I don’t think I’ll ever stop wanting new body art. If I go more than a year without getting branded, I develop a serious craving. Each parlor I pass excites me. Every artist I meet entices me. My skin misses the gun. My nerves yearn for the vibration. This is the part where my dad would shake his head in disapproval. He hates tattoos, but I love them.

My tattoos are a beautiful collage of what I am passionate about, displayed for the world to see. They are reflections of ME, candid and complete. They are a part me now; there until my flesh fades to dust. My offspring and their offspring and their offspring will only know this version of me: the one with weird drawings all over my arms. Yeah, I’ll be saggy. But I’ll be saggy and decorated. The images, wrinkles, and scars are an intricate and intimate map of my life; every line and crease holds their own importance.

For me, the ink scattered across my skin is there for a reason; each piece has a different purpose and meaning to me. I get a fuck ton of people asking about my body art. What is it? Why that? What does it mean? I don’t mind the questions, but I don’t ever go into depth explaining each one. They’re special. Personal. We have a relationship, my tattoos and I. Other people need not tread. I gave each piece a proper amount of consideration before adding them to my anatomy. They are all an intentional commitment to my image and to myself. They’re reminders of who I am...and they all have a story.

MARVEL

Tattoo Series p.1

Marvel

March 2015 - Metamorphosis (Kingston, NY)

My first and favorite. The word is traced on my forearm, brilliantly situated so that it’s almost always in my peripheral vision. I have the word etched into my flesh backwards. When I glance down at my limb, the ink appears to be a jumbled mess. When I see myself in a mirror however, it looks...perfect. As if it belongs on my skin. Like Stan Lee himself branded me. Marvel.

Anyone can recognize the iconic font; the logo that has existed for decades and has touched the lives of billions. Marvel has been an obsession of mine ever since I was a wee little geek. Spider-Man came out when I was 6. Of course I was destined to a life of superhero infatuation. The first Xbox 360 game I ever played was Marvel: Ultimate Alliance. To this day, I sometimes get the urge to pick it up again. I’ve been fortunate enough to attend multiple conventions, including the one and only SDCC. The MCU played a critical role in my development, and it continues to inspire me to be a strong woman.

Generally, I am the only one who sees it the way it is meant to be seen. The word was placed for my eyes only, like a top-secret coded message. This truly was a tattoo for me. It is a reminder to marvel at all the wonders in the world, both big and small. It’s a call to appreciate peculiarities in life. It is a signal to stop and stare. The simple effect a mirror has on reality can be so intriguing, as can countless other things in the world.

QUOTATION MARKS

Tattoo Series p.2

Quotation Marks

March 2015 - Metamorphosis (Kingston, NY)

Everybody has a basic bitch tattoo. Mine happens to be just below the crease of my wrist. I knew going into this experience that the piece itself would hardly be unique, so my choice in font (and location) was key. The symbol has a gothic appeal with a slightly archaic look. At first glance, one doesn’t immediately register that the small black dots form quotation marks. It’s my- let’s take a closer look, shall we? -tattoo. And it’s fabulous.

In true INTJ form, I was (and still am) often viewed as an outcast; the people that I choose to let in are few and far between. I grew up enveloped in a dense fog of judgement that has yet to fully dissipate. As a result of this, exposing my authentic self has been an ongoing struggle. The quotation marks on my skin tell me to be bold. They beg me to be unapologetically me, to be unafraid in speaking my mind, and to be truly conscientious of the power of my words.

COMPASS & CRESCENT MOON

Tattoo Series p.3 and p.4

Compass & Crescent Moon

April 2015 - Metamorphosis (Kingston, NY)

The compass on the edge of my wrist is simple in design. The circles and lines fit together like a pretty little puzzle. Only one direction is referenced... North. This tattoo is a crucial piece of encouragement, and that is precisely why it is so prominently placed on my body. My compass commands me to set my own path and to follow it bravely. It reminds me that whichever route I choose to take is the right one.

For my hand tat, I knew the image I chose needed to have an immense amount of significance. It’s never covered, and it’s in my line of sight constantly. A teeny tiny crescent moon takes up residency here. I, like many other little girls, was afraid of the dark. The blackness and the uncertainty it held would shake me to my very core. As I grew older however, I started to see the wonder in it. One cannot fully appreciate the majesty of the moon and stars without the depth of night.

No one has the luxury of living without fear. As a grown woman, darkness no longer scares me. What does is something far worse. Damage. Depression. Death. Fighting through anxiety and overcoming pain has allowed me to live a life that I love. My itty bitty crescent moon is a token of strength. It is proof that the most beautiful things come out of the darkest places.

IDIC

Tattoo Series p.5

IDIC

July 2015 - Metamorphosis (Kingston, NY)

The inside of my forearm is marked with four letters...I D I C. Each character is thick and structured with the interior full of oddly shaped cracks. They look somewhat similar to a stained glass window; intriguing in their haphazard texture. The letters themselves stand for Infinite Diversity in Infinite Combinations. Sound familiar?

This tattoo is in direct reference to the basis of Vulcan philosophy. Their belief is that the vast array of variables in the universe combine to create truth and beauty. Not only do I appreciate the logic and reasoning of Vulcans, I believe their celebration of uniqueness is so powerful. IDIC is on my skin because I value individuality and complexity. Also, because Spock is a BAMF.

Star Trek is a wonderfully idealistic concept. I’ve been a fan of the sci-fi series for years because it’s so optimistic. The fact that such a forward-thinking television show was created and supported in the 60s is amazing. I had the pleasure of attending a Q&A panel with George Takei in which he explained the significance of IDIC and its relevance in our culture. Only by supporting diversity can humanity truly live long and prosper.

SHEET MUSIC

Tattoo Series p.6

Sheet Music

September 2015 - Metamorphosis (Kingston, NY)

Nothing in life brings me more joy than music. There is something so ethereal about listening to a piece performed by a professional orchestra. The most fascinating thing is how composers are able to evoke such emotion in even the simplest of songs. Creators of lyrical masterpieces are made of pure genius, and if anyone is going to have their work attached to my skin, it’s Stephen Sondheim.

Musicals are magic to me. My favorite happens to be Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street. My father took me to see the 2007 film when I was 11 and in that theater, an obsession was born. The sheet music gracing my arm is an excerpt from the song Pretty Women. Arguably, the vocals here are the best out of the entire production.

—sipping coffee...dancing...pretty women...are a wonder—

I am truly at my happiest when I’m singing. Performing in show choir and musical theater was the only redeeming part of high school for me. Being a part of a powerful combination of voices and working to create perfect harmony is such a rewarding endeavor. Even singing alone makes me giddy. My voice makes me feel extraordinary, like I have a rare talent that not sharing with the world would be criminal. Music will forever be my passion.

BOW

Tattoo Series p.7

Bow

October 2015 - Iron Brush (Lincoln, NE)

In RPG terms, I would classify myself as a rogue. You would find me wielding a bow in Albion, Ferelden, or Cyrodiil. I’d be the Daryl Dixon of my post-apocalyptic crew. The Legolas to your Frodo. The long-distance damage inflictor in any D&D campaign. You get the point. The ink on my back signifies my fondness for fantasy, as well as love for my best friend.

Abby has been a major figure in my life since pre-k. From when we were little catholic schoolgirls to high school graduates, we were close. I saw her almost every day from the age of 5 to 18. She is my most loyal friend. The best pen pal I could ask for. The editor to my writer. The setter to my hitter. The soprano to my alto. I have the bow and she has the arrow. We will always be connected.

DREAMFALL QUOTE

Tattoo Series p.8

Dreamfall Quote

April 2016 - Great Southern Tattoo Company (Alexandria, VA)

.Between the familiar and the unknown, between certainty and doubt,

Dreamfall is one of the first PC games I remember playing. I was too young to fully grasp the meaning behind the content. As I aged, this quote always stuck with me. I identified with it. It was me there, lost in the confusion. Existential understanding has never been something I claimed to be an expert on. The words are branded into my side, close to my heart...just like the meaning behind them.

Control will always be something I strive for. My brain is like a filing cabinet; a place for everything and everything in its place. I have always been a very disciplined individual, and yet, my fight for order is ongoing. Releasing the need for regulations and restrictions is my toughest battle. Ultimately, I think this is the absolute route to happiness. Surrendering to limbo. Embracing the in-between. Forgiving myself and allowing an instinctive existence. It’s as nature intended.

HEART GRENADE

Tattoo Series p.9

Heart Grenade

August 2016 - Iron Brush (Lincoln, NE)

One of my fondest childhood memories is playing Legos alone in my bedroom while listening to my mum’s Green Day CDs. My love for this band blossomed early. American Idiot is my favorite album of all time. I could listen to Jesus of Suburbia on repeat for hours. Unfortunately, I’ve only seen the trio in concert a couple of times. I did, however, dress up as Billie Joe for Halloween one year. I’m kind of a fan. The image on my chest is a tribute to the musicians that I’ve listened to longer than any others.

You know why couples avoid getting matching tattoos? They’re afraid they may one day come to regret them. Well, I don’t. We were together for 5 years. He used to say that seeing me carrying my Green Day tote bag made him fall in love with me. The time we spent together taught me countless lessons I believe to be invaluable. My heart grenade is a tribute to the girl I once was, a reminder of how far I’ve come, and a relic of my evolution into womanhood.

FORCE

Tattoo Series p.10

Force

January 2018 - Great Southern Tattoo Company (Alexandria, VA)

Seeing as the current population doesn’t recognize galactic basic as the standard language, I’ll explain what the symbols on the back of my arm spell out. They read FORCE. You know, the invisible power that exists in all living beings? The spiritual entity that binds us all? The energy that those with a high midi-chlorian count can manipulate? The thing they’re talking about in the Jedi Code - “There is no Death, there is the Force” and the Code of the Sith - “The Force shall free me”? Yeah, that Force.

It’s safe to say that I’ve been in love with all things Star Wars since I was born. Maybe even before that. My father has been a fanatic since 1977, when A New Hope was released. That enthrallment was graciously passed down to me at an age so young I might’ve still been in the womb. From vintage action figures to Queen Amidala paper dolls, my childhood was full of Star Wars fever. Countless books and video games (I’ve played KOTOR more times than every other game combined) got me through my teen years. I owned (and still do own) an absurd amount of branded clothing, including costumes. To this day, I’ll pop in an old soundtrack cd and jam. The lure will surely never die.

Last Christmas, my family visited Galaxy’s Edge in Disneyland and I almost exploded out of pure excitement. To see my childhood fantasy come to life felt almost sinful. Like it was too good to be true. George Lucas blessed humanity with this universe and the fact that it’s still growing and evolving speaks volumes to the quality of his imagination. This epic space opera will continue for generations, of that I’m certain.

SPELL & SNAKE

Tattoo Series p.11 and p.12

Spell & Snake

August 2018 - Sailor’s Grave (Omaha, NE)

If I were a student at Hogwarts, I would undoubtedly be placed in Slytherin. Cunning-Clever-Composed...that’s me, alright. Snape would be my favorite professor. He would teach me Legilimency, as he did Harry Potter. This is, as I’m sure you know, the art of penetrating one’s mind with the intention of extracting thoughts and emotions. “The mind is a complex and many-layered thing...”

My finger reads Legilimens because I’ve always considered myself to be quite intuitive when it comes to sensing others’ feelings and motivations. In the Muggle world sans magic, I do the best I can. Studying psychology allows me to further develop this skill. The ink on my other finger is similar in theme; an image of a snake winds around my knuckle. Another ode to my Slytherin nature? Perhaps. It certainly does represent my ball python, Rorschach. Thinking of him always makes me smile.

Snakes are gorgeous creatures. So primal yet so pretty. Each species is viewed with such hatred, but that only solidifies my thought that they are wonderful. It’s kind of a trend with me...outcasts suck me in like a fucking vacuum. I am consistently drawn to the ignored. It’s one of my purest qualities; the ability to see beauty most people cannot. Occasionally, this trait bites me in the ass (like that one time Rory actually did bite me). That won’t stop me, though. I wouldn’t have it any other way.

SUCCULENT

Tattoo Series p.13

Succulent

January 2019 - Liquid Courage (Omaha, NE)

Currently, I have a curated selection of 28 succulents, cacti, and air plants. Botany isn’t my specialty, so my assortment of plants evolves frequently. Each time one dies, 3 more replace it. It’s somewhat of an addiction. And yet, cultivating my collection is a peaceful hobby. Caring for a living thing and allowing it to thrive is immensely fulfilling. Not to mention the fact that surrounding myself with exquisite vegetation is extremely beneficial to my mood.

The succulent that sits on my sternum is delightfully green, with dark roots creeping up my cleavage. There is nothing more beautiful than the natural world and all of it’s verdure. Mother Nature’s flora is a wonder to behold. Succulents have always attracted me because of their otherworldly appearance and their hardy essence. They look like they belong on another planet, but in reality, they belong right on my windowsill. These weird, tough little plants are a perfect match for this weird, tough little girl.

STINGRAY

Tattoo Series p.14

Stingray

January 2021 - 27 Tattoo Studio (Phoenix, AZ)

My father instilled in me a love of animals. He would take my sister and I to the zoo often, read us a collection of animal encyclopedias, and watch Animal Planet with us like it was the College World Series. The older I got, the more I connected with the animal kingdom. I began appreciating it more than humankind. My “favorite” animal changed many times over the years. For a while it was lemurs, then red pandas, then dolphins. It was sharks for quite some time, then big cats. I didn’t become fascinated by stingrays until I visited the aquarium in Atlantic City.

It was a slow day at the aquarium. No lines, and no screaming children. There was a small petting pool with stingrays there. I had never touched a stingray before, so of course I had to. I knelt by the pool and feasted my eyes on those beautiful creatures. I stuck my hand in the pool gingerly, and a ray immediately swam up to me. It slowly glided by, and I ran my fingers along its back. It felt amazing. So squishy and slimy and wonderful. More rays noticed that I was there, and they all took turns swimming by. I reached in the water further and further until I had my entire arm submerged. The rays began a loop around the pool. As soon as I slid my hand along the body of one, another ray would be right behind it. They seemed to love me, or well, my touch. I stayed like that for some time, knees burning and back hurting with nearly half my body underwater. I could’ve stayed there all day. From that moment on, stingrays have been my favorite type of animal.

I’ve had the pleasure of petting and feeding countless rays over the years, and it never gets old. They’re such majestic creatures, with a beautiful innocence and kind demeanor. They glide across the water so effortlessly, wings gently flapping like birds in the air. They’re sweet and smart and gorgeous. I’m kind of obsessed, can’t you tell? I placed the Cownose Ray (they’re the friendliest) on my foot so that one day, when I stand in Caribbean waters, rays will swim by and know that they are loved.

MERMAID

Tattoo Series p.15

Mermaid

April 2021 - Hotrod Tattoo (Phoenix, AZ)

If I were to be any other creature, mythical or otherwise, I would choose to be a mermaid. They’re something different to everyone. To some, they’re horrifying beasts that lead men to their doom. To others, they’re ethereal beauties that protect the seas. To me, they represent mystery and femininity and freedom. They’re able to adventure to the depths of the ocean at whim and explore waters all over the globe. #goals.

The mermaid on my thigh is my method of honoring the legends of our ancestors. I’ve always particularly enjoyed studying our history. After all, isn’t that what history is? A collection of wild adventures and even wilder tales? History is nothing more than stories passed down from generation to generation. Who’s to say certain things didn’t get lost in translation? Like the existence of mermaids, perhaps? After all, over 80% of our ocean remains unmapped to this day. Who’s to say what’s inhabiting it?

ISH BIN EIN BEARLEENER

Tattoo Series p.16

Ish bin ein Bearleener

January 2023 - Dark Art Tattoo Collective (Phoenix, AZ)

Every American has a favorite president. At least they should. Mine is John Fitzgerald Kennedy, and I’d be lying if I said this was purely for politics. The dude was handsome as fuck. Something about men in the 50’s really gets me going. And that accent. UGH. Now of course I appreciate what he did for our country: the Space Race, Civil Rights movement, and Cuban Missile Crisis would have all been completely different had Kennedy not been involved. He was in the Navy. He went to Harvard. He hung out with Sinatra. He was wise, well-spoken, and charismatic. Dude was a badass.

His speech to Berlin in June of ’63 was one of his most famous. Before him was a nation divided: East and West, Communism and Capitalism, suppression and freedom. His goal was to support West Berlin without inciting nuclear war with the soviets. “All free men, wherever they may live, are citizens of Berlin, and therefore, as a free man, I take pride in the words, ‘Ich bin ein Berliner.’” He didn’t actually say he was a jelly doughnut FYI; he was showing his solidarity for the people of West Berlin by stating that he was one of them. Cool, right?

JFK’s phonetic spelling of his famous line is displayed on my thigh. It was important for me to have this done in his signature chaotic handwriting, that way there’s a little bit of Jack with me everywhere I go. I got this piece for him, but also for the Reiferts. My dad was adopted, and our ancestors were German. Like really German (my Great-Grandpa's name was Henry Hans Stolley). It might not be in my blood, but just like Jack, I too am a Berliner.

PLUM'S OUTLINE

Tattoo Series p.17

Plum's Outline

August 2023 - Living Canvas Tattoos (Phoenix, AZ)

I grew up with dogs, cats, fish, guinea pigs, bunnies, and hamsters. As a young adult, I mothered several fish, two ferrets, and a snake. Plum was the first dog of my own, and she is my everything. Plumbus is her legal name, taken from one of the weirdest episodes of Rick and Morty (ep.19). The name was picked out before I got her, but it fit. I knew for years that I wanted a Frenchie; there’s just something about them that makes my heart melt. The giant ears? Squished faces? Chunky bodies? I love it all. She was one of two left in her litter – they’re ¾ Frenchie and ¼ pug, so I got her for the low price of $1,000. Thank goodness she’s not a pureblood.

I drove 10 hours roundtrip from my apartment in Omaha to pick her up in Ogallala, Nebraska. She was tiny and wrinkly and perfect in every way. I immediately fell in love, and I’ve been obsessed with her ever since. We just celebrated her 5th birthday in January, and we’ll celebrate our 5th anniversary together in May. I got a Plum tattoo because…simply put, I love her more than life itself. This creature has brought me an immense amount of joy and laughter, she’s been by my side through lots of bad and lots of good, she’s taught me so much about myself and about life and about love. Her ears are her trademark, and they’re placed behind my ear for that reason. My little P will be with me forever and ever.

nature poetryvintageGratitudeFree VerseFor Funartbody
1

About the Creator

Amanda Reifert

Nebraska native, psychology student, novice model, lover of the written word and all things geeky.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Orb Soleabout a month ago

    I read the story of all your tattoos with great pleasure. So, absolutely every tattoo has meaning and significance? That's cool. I have nothing against tattoos that are done just for beauty sake, but when there is meaning, it always adds more value. I guess you draw all the sketches? Because I use things like https://tattoon.ai/ . Just fyi it's an AI generator that creates different tattoo designs. I don't always get what I like the first time, but when I refine it, the result is so good.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.