Poets logo

Taste the Cotton Candy

through the phone line

By PoetryPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
Taste the Cotton Candy
Photo by Brandi Alexandra on Unsplash

taste the cotton candy

through the phone line

and state lines

between my hunger

and nightmares

there are borders

iron gates

wrought with terror

midnight clouds swallow my fingers

morning ties a ribbon behind my back

the sun is a STOP sign

the grass my graveyard

my body hollow

rigid

rigid legs and rigid rules

am I the puppet or the puppeteer?

I smell the cotton candy

through the phone line

across the state line

sad poetry

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    PWritten by Poetry

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.