Poets logo

Taphology

(noun) The study of graves and burial

By Art AdamsPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

At the end of it

I know exactly how I want it done

I'll dress it up fancy for the ones the task may fall to

"I want to return to the earth

I want to nourish Mother Nature

I want my essence to be carried to the sun in the leaves of a great tree"

A truthful glamour to make my plan palatable

At the end of it

I won't be pretty

It shouldn't be pretty

We are so removed from ourselves as nature

We hide it

Sneak it away under a blanket

Into a lead lined chest

Into a decorative jar

We put it in a concrete box with a syringe full of formaldehyde in case someone should look

Not for me

At the end of it

Wrap me in a cotton sheet

And leave me somewhere green (with permission)

So my invisible stowaways can feast and transform me

So the carrion crows can feed their chicks

Let my skin shrink back so my hair seems to have grown

And starts supernatural rumours about my afterlife

Let the foxes scatter my framework

Until only a depression in the soil and an abundance of wild plants says I was ever there at all

Don't hide the decay

Don't make me pretty

Let me rest and rot in peace

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Art Adams

Just a genderqueer gremlin putting my attempts to marry up my scientific knowledge and creativity into the world

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.