Poets logo

Talking about the Weather

Losing a relationship with someone then talking again

By Rilee AreyPublished 2 years ago Updated 5 months ago 2 min read
Talking about the Weather
Photo by Dương Hữu on Unsplash

You were my best friend,

we built a trust together, like no other,

I've cried in your arms more times than I can count,

I supported you in the ways no one has shown you before,

The way I believe you deserved,

We filled each other up with compliments, care and eventually love,

You told me you would always be there,

You never gave me a reason to doubt that,

Until one day,

You were gone,

Just stopped responding,

With a reason, but without warning,

Just like that,

Your anger, overshadowed our relationship,

Your ideals diluted how I mattered to you,

And you shut me out,

You walked away doing everything that you said you would never do to me,

I am used to being hurt, and I can handle being left behind,

But I didn't even know losing you was an option on the table,

You made a decision based off of my decision and left me, without telling me,

Its been a few months,

And we're kind of talking again,

And I don't want you not in my life,

but you being kind,

Still makes me smile,

But I want to yell, throw things and cry,

We're now here talking about weather, together,

When I used to tell you everything,

Meaningless conversations through clouded contempt,

Never talked about, never resolved,

Just there,

And I want to move forward,

But I feel I cant talk to you,

Not like I used to,

I feel like I cant open myself to trust you again,

When you we're so willing to walk away based on my decisions,

And I want to ask if it was worth it,

But your probably thinking the same thing,

Two people too stubborn to see both sides,

Two people who believe our own opinions are right

Two people who lost a important piece in each others life,

Because you were my everyday call after work,

My guidance, advice and support guy,

But mostly, you were my best friend,

A special person in my life,

Moving away from you, hurt,

But you walking away hurt more,

And you had your reasons,

Valid but not absolute,

But now we're here,

Texting about weather,

knowing you deleted all my photos,

sharing shallow casual conversation from one another,

Like all that care is now callused,

Too hard and too hurt to be easy,

But this is where I guess we chose to be.

sad poetry

About the Creator

Rilee Arey

I am a professional life romantizer, with a heart that feels everything deeply. I am a moment collector through words and the ways around us.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Rilee AreyWritten by Rilee Arey

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.