Poets logo

talk to me

please, just for a little.

By daphne grayPublished 6 months ago 2 min read
2

talk to me once.

your voice will echo in my mind.

i’ll sit on the bus and i’ll wonder if i’ll meet you there.

talk to me once.

i’ll write a poem about you,

on your pretty eyes that i don’t get enough of a chance to look into.

talk to me once.

i’ll be so enthusiastic.

my smile will go up to my ears, i just want you to like me.

talk to me once,

and when i head to class, i’ll look for your long hair in the lecture hall,

still waiting for the day that i get to see you.

talk to me once,

tell me a story,

let me make you laugh.

laugh at me, laugh with me,

i’ll agree with you on nearly everything,

we’re so alike.

i’m so different,

i’m so special.

talk to me once,

i‘ll be everything that you need for a month.

talk to me twice,

you might finally see the spark.

you’ll see it in my eyes and mistake it for one between us.

talk to me three times,

i’ll jog home on a winter night.

my boots have holes in them and my sweater isn’t thick enough.

talk to me enough and you might regret ever doing so.

talk to me enough and you’ll find there’s so much in my brain,

but i won’t talk to you enough for you to ever know it.

talk to me once and tell me your favorite color.

tell me your favorite philosopher,

tell me your favorite soccer team.

let the music play, let the movie run,

i just pray you’re not paying too much attention.

let me side with you on trivial matters,

it’s how i get close before i’m not anymore.

let me have this.

let me talk to you until i have nothing more to say.

let me talk to you until we both regret ever opening our mouths.

talk to me once, twice, too many times.

talk to me until you can no longer count on your fingers neither your attempts nor my inability to take a hint.

talk to me plenty, but i’ll never let you in on why that is.

talk to me until you learn all that i let you, all that i can.

talk to me until the rain washes us both under and over.

until the rain washes us away.

talk to me until you don’t.

until i’m wondering where the smoke billows from and why i let the fire turn to ashes.

until the room is thick with tension and my lungs are burning up.

until they both crumble,

but lucky you, i remembered to lock the door.

heartbreaklove poemsexcerpts
2

About the Creator

daphne gray

just a girl in this world who thinks a lot and writes a lot and some of it makes sense and some of it doesn't. enjoy nevertheless.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 months ago

    This was so poignant and emotional. Loved your poem!

  • Margaret Brennan6 months ago

    brings back memories. love it.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.