Poets logo

Talk to Me

It’s cold out here

By Lara EverettPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
1

It's cold and lonely standing here in this doorway between all in and all out.

Will you let me in or should I stand here and shout?

If I turn and leave I know you will plead... No please don't go, but I won't have heard a thing Since it is only in thought a spoken thing.

I stand here compelled by your warmth even if it comes in a breeze and as quickly as it came now it leaves.

This cold becomes overwhelming as I await the mystery of where the warmth has gone.

Maybe if I turn this way or bend that I will attract that warmth and it will linger just a bit longer then Before.

My arms grow tired trying to reach that place so far beyond....this doorway doesn't talk. Leaves me to my devises and my own train of thought

I know you've been your own best friend for so long it's hard to remember that I'm standing in this doorway waiting for you to say.....Come on in.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Lara Everett

Well, I am a single mom with 2 kids. I have a 13 year old daughter and an 8 year old son. I have currently decided to boldly go where NO single mom has gone before (accept maybe J.K. Rowling) and follow my dreams only experience is passion.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.