Poets logo

Taking a U-Turn Home

The Journey to Finding Myself and What I Truly Care About

By Sydney MariePublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like
Phoenix, Arizona (March 2019)

I don’t know who you are anymore

But I know myself

After years and years of misconceptions

Heart breaks and losses taken,

I lost who I was and shaped my life

All around you.

I was a free spirit that didn’t know better

And you came in like a white girl, trying to get a free drink.

It’s been years and years of torture.

Saying “No, no,” it’s okay

It’s all under control I promise.

That wasn’t me talking, yet no one knew because i wouldn’t let anyone get that close.

You were the only one I truly let in

All you did was tear me down.

So lately I’ve been finding me and I love me

But the best part about finding out me,

Is I forget about you.

Your tight grip around my life no longer stands

I’m the only one standing this time,

Free, independent and full of unconditional love.

There’s even some for you, just as a little thank you

Thank you for pushing me to go looking within and not without.

To heal what was hurt and trusting myself.

I have my sense of humor back and my bright smile.

No matter how many times it’s said, you are a demon that I let in,

Now you're still a demon but no longer a part of me.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.