Poets logo

Take Me Away

heart chords

By Erin HensleyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Take Me Away
Photo by Eric Nopanen on Unsplash

I have always chosen to retreat into sharps and flats.

Plunged my head into a pool of notes

And inhaled a breath of song.

In my younger years

I preferred a careful melody

to the cacophony of shouting.

Slap on a pair of headphones

and block out the world I cannot change.

As a teen

I preferred the melody of curated shouting

to the careful words of a family navigating loss.

Stuff down my grief, roll my eyes

and turn up the volume.

As an adult

I am torn asunder by reckless lyrics

that speak to my past lives.

Chords that intertwine with the pounding of my heart

A cresendo of all the emotion I’ve suppressed

Swaying in an empty room

Tears at a karaoke bar I can’t explain

The flush of crescendo

The freedom of cadenza

Forte

More

The dial can never go high enough

Flood me with feeling

Save me.

Please save me.

Fortissimo

Prestissimo

This world has not gotten any softer or slower

Offer me a booming bass

and deliver me from evil

how to

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    EHWritten by Erin Hensley

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.